The bulk portal welcome email tools allow you to invite students and families to the family portal. Before sending the invitation emails, please make sure that the portal is configured in Setup, portal accounts are properly set up (including passwords) and that any desired family emails are added to the appropriate custom fields. If emails or passwords are not correctly set up, users may receive an email but not be able to log in.
When sending portal welcome emails, the email will always contain the login URL, username, and login method / password details. You can optionally add a custom message to the email if desired.
Other things to be aware of when sending bulk custom emails:
- Selecting Send to Student Email will use the portal username email address as the recipient.
- Selecting Send to Family Emails will include all pinned student custom fields that have the word "email" in the label and which contain a valid email address in the value.
- After choosing Student and/or Family emails on the email customization page, you will get a preview of all available recipients based on your selection. You can use this page to verify your selection or to de-select individual recipients that you do not wish to include in the bulk email.
- As protection against accidental spamming, JumpRope will never send the same email (based on the contents of the email) to the same recipient address more than once in a four-hour period. This means that to re-send account information, you may need to wait four hours or send it using a different email system. Email de-duplication happens at a low level in our email sub-system, and as a result no visible notification is given if an email is skipped for this reason. In other words, you will still see the email listed in the preview even if a duplicate email has recently been sent, but it still will not be re-sent within this four-hour window.
- When sending emails to a large number of recipients (say hundreds, or thousands), it's important that you keep your browser window open until you receive a confirmation message that all emails have been sent. If the process gets interrupted due to closing your browser, losing connection, or any other error, the best option is to re-send the entire email within four hours with the same selections, thus avoiding duplicate emails being sent.